Rural Electric Cooperative

CBEC Announces Scholarship Winners


Area High School Seniors Earn Electric Co-op Scholarships

Cody Dean of Fincastle and Lorenzo Hernandez of Elliston are recipients of $1,000 college scholarships awarded by the Education Scholarship Foundation of the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives (VMDAEC).

Cody, a senior at James River High School, is the son of Christopher and Sherry Dean. Lorenzo, a senior at Eastern Montgomery High School, is the son of J. Guadalupe and Laura Hernandez. Both were eligible for consideration because their parents are consumer-members of Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative.

Recipients are chosen based on a competitive screening process that considers financial need (40 percent), academic achievement (40 percent) and community involvement (20 percent).  Applicants must also provide evidence of their acceptance into a post-high school educational institution or program.

This year, the Foundation is awarding 50 $1,000 Worth Hudson scholarships to students who live in areas served by electric cooperatives in Delaware, Maryland and Virginia. These grants can be used to pay for tuition, fees and books.

The scholarships are named in honor of Worth Hudson, the Foundation’s first chairman and former chairman of the board of directors of Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative in Chase City, Va. Since its inception in 2000, the Foundation has awarded 567 scholarships totaling $466,500. 

The Foundation is funded through tax-deductible donations and bequests from individuals, proceeds from benefit fundraising events and Co-Bank’s Sharing Success Program. It also participates in the Amazon Smile Program.

Founded in 1944, VMDAEC is the trade association for Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative and 14 other electric co-ops that serve Virginia, Maryland and Delaware. It is based in Glen Allen, Va. and provides safety and employee training, governmental relations, communications, including the publication of Cooperative Living magazine, and other services to its member cooperatives. For more information on VMDAEC and the scholarship program, visit or

Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative, headquartered in New Castle, Va., is a not-for-profit energy provider that serves over 7,100 homes, farms and businesses in the Virginia counties of Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Giles, Montgomery and Roanoke and in Monroe County, West Virginia. For more information, go to